copy short urlprintemail
+ A
A -
Istanbul People head on Sunday voted for a new parliament in the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, which is recognised only by Turkey. Some 400 candidates are standing for eight parties, alongside three independent candidates, for 50 seats. Polls suggest that President Ersin Tatar’s National Unity Party (UBP) in the lead. Tatar was elected in the 2020 presidential elections. Some 200,000 people are eligible to vote for parliament, which was last elected in 2018. Tatar and his party support a two-state solution for the divided island and are seen as loyal followers of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Cyprus has been divided since a Greek coup and Turkish military intervention in 1974. The island republic has been an EU member since 2004. (DPA)
copy short url   Copy