copy short urlprintemail
+ A
A -
Iran on Wednesday announced temporary travel restrictions on five major cities including Tehran as the country hit new single-day records in both COVID-19 deaths and new infections.
As well as the capital, the measures include banning travel to and from Karaj, Mashhad, Isfahan and Urmia, the health ministry’s Kianoush Jahanpour told state television.
It runs from midnight until Sunday noon, only involving private vehicles but not “public transportation” such as buses and planes, he said.
According to Jahanpour, the measure may be renewed after Sunday and extended to other cities.
The aim was to dissuade Iranians from travelling at the weekend, which runs from Thursday to Friday in Iran, and a public holiday on Saturday.
copy short url   Copy