+ A
A -
Brussels: European Union countries on Monday added Syria’s interior minister and six other new ministers to a sanctions blacklist for their role in President Bashar al-Assad’s “violent repression” of civilians. The European Council grouping the 28 member countries said the ministers who were appointed to Assad’s government in November have been barred from travelling to Europe and will see their assets frozen. “The Council today added 7 ministers of the government of Syria to the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures against the Syrian regime and its supporters,” Council said. (AFP)
copy short url   Copy