copy short urlprintemail
+ A
A -
Qatar tribune

Tribune News Network


Sidra Medicine, a member of Qatar Foundation, celebrated its second Medical Education Day recently to honour its batch of 2023-2024 graduate residents, fellows and medical students.

Sidra Medicine acknowledged the accomplishments of nine graduating medical students sponsored by Sidra Medicine, 24 resident trainees and 18 graduating fellows for being the top performers in their respective specialties.

The paediatric specialties included: neurology, cardiology, genetic medicine, emergency medicine, psychiatry, pulmonology and more.

The Medical Education Day event was marked with several special awards including Best Faculty Member, Best Programme Coordinator, Educational Researcher of the Year, Best Resident, and more.

Dr Iyabo Tinubu-Karch, chief executive officer of Sidra Medicine, said: “We are proud to witness your graduation from these programmes - as you move forward with newfound knowledge, practical skills, and most importantly, a working experience that will not only transform your life but also the lives of the young patients and families under your care.”

The event included the Appreciation and Awarding Ceremony, presided over by Professor Ibrahim Janahi, chair of Medical Education & DIO, who presented the awards, alongside Dr Iyabo Tinubu-Karch, Sidra Medicine’s chief executive officer, and Dr Ahmed Al Hammadi, acting chief medical officer.

Prof Ibrahim Janahi, chair of Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official at Sidra Medicine, said: “You are shining examples of our department’s vision and mission to set the highest standards of medical education and continuous professional development opportunities. Our Graduate Medical Education programme is one of the most critical functions of the Medical Education Department, and it is truly heartening to see the graduates and fellows here today. As for many young patients and their families, you will be seen as their saviors.”

The Best Faculty Member Award was given to Dr Ruba Benini, an attending physician in Neurology and the programme director of the Paediatric Neurology fellowship programme.

The Best Programme Coordinator Award was granted to Israk Abdula, a specialist in the Medical Education Office.

The Educational Researcher of the Year Award was earned by Dr Tariq Abbas, a physician specialising in Paediatric Urology.

The UME Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award was awarded to Dr Madeeha Kamal, a physician in Adolescent Medicine. Hassan Sheikh, manager of Sidra Medicine’s Library, received the MEO Staff Award.

The awards ceremony also included The Best Resident Award, which includes a certificate, a token of appreciation and QR2,500. The awardees were Dr Tamara Elshareif, a fourth-year resident, and Dr Dana Al Ali, a second-year resident.

The Best Fellow Award, which includes a certificate, a token of appreciation and QR5,000, was awarded to Dr Fatima Al Sulaimani, who specialises in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

copy short url   Copy