copy short urlprintemail
+ A
A -
Qatar tribune

Tribune News Network


Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra (QPO) is set to deliver an extraordinary performance of pop music’s most iconic hits, reimagined by talented musicians of Philharmonic and led by Dr Nasser Sahim Al Jassim. Under the baton of Grammy-nominated conductor Alastair Willis, the concert promises an evening of unforgettable music and cultural celebration.

This highly anticipated concert will take place on June 13, at 7.30 pm at the Al Mayassa Theatre in the Qatar National Convention Centre. The event will feature an exceptional lineup of vocalists, many of whom are alumni of the USA’s prestigious International Visitor Leadership Programme (IVLP). The IVLP, organised by the US Department of State, is a premier professional exchange programme aimed at fostering mutual understanding and collaboration.

Highlighting the deep-rooted relations between Qatar and the USA, the concert will also showcase homegrown talents selected from the Music Affairs Center’s ‘Nagham’ singing competition. The diverse lineup includes artists from Japan, Finland, Sudan, the Philippines, and more, all united through the universal language of music. Among the stellar performers is Layla Al Thani, the daughter of renowned Qatari composer Dana Alfardan and the Qatar Philharmonic’s Cultural Ambassador. Following in her mother’s illustrious footsteps, Layla exemplifies the next generation of musical excellence.

The concert programme features a wide range of beloved pop hits, including: Gloria Gaynor - “I Will Survive” (arr. Giovanni Pasini); Frank Sinatra - “Fly Me to the Moon” (arr. Islam El-Hefnawy); Toni Braxton - “Un-break My Heart” (arr. Dr. Nasser Sahim); Doris Day - “Perhaps” (arr. Islam El-Hefnawy); Elvis Presley - “Can’t Help Falling in Love” (arr. Giovanni Pasini); Mariah Carey - “Hero” (arr. Islam El-Hefnawy); Amy Winehouse - “Back to Black” (arr. Mohamed Oweda); Whitney Houston & Mariah Carey - “When You Believe” (arr. Makharov Nodirbek); and The Eagles - “Hotel California” (arr. Dr. Nasser Sahim).

Second Half: Aulii Cravalho - “How Far I’ll Go” from “Moana”; Banah - “I Put a Spell On You” (arr. Mohamed Oweda); Lionel Richie - “Hello” (arr. Ahmed Oweda); Gotye ft. Kimbra - “Somebody That I Used to Know” (arr. Mohamed Oweda); Adele - “Hello” (arr. Mohamed Oweda); Whitney Houston - “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” (arr. Ahmed Oweda); Chris Isaak - “Wicked Game” (arr. Ahmed Oweda); George Michael - “Careless Whisper” (arr. Ahmed Oweda); and Earth, Wind, & Fire - “September” (arr. Mohamed Oweda).

The concert will take place on June 13, at 7.30pm at QNCC.

copy short url   Copy