+ A
A -

Tribune News Network
Qatar coach Felix Sanchez has announced on Tuesday the preliminary squad of 34 players for the Asia Cup, to be held in the United Arab Emirates.
The selected players will have a training camp in Vienna from June 24 to July 16. The Asia Cup is scheduled from January 5 to February 10, 2019. Qatar will play in Group E alongside Lebanon, North Korea and Saudi Arabia.
The players are: Saad al Sheeb, Meshaal Barsham, Pedro Miguel, Salem al Hajri, Ibrahim Majed, Abdul Karim Hasan, Hassan al Haydos, Khohei Boualem, Akram Afif and Ali Faridoun (all Al Sadd Club), Abdul Karim Salim al Ali, Bassam al Rawi, Sultan al Brik, Karim Boudiaf, Ismail Mohammed, Moez Ali, Abdullah Abdul Salam al Ahraq, Abdulrahman Mohamed Fahmy, Mohammed Ahmed al Bakri (all Al Duhail Club), Yousef Hassan, Assem Madbo, Mahdi Ali, Abdulaziz Hatem, Khalid Abdul Raouf Hassan (all Al Gharafa Club), Yazen Naim, Jassim Mohammed Omar (both Al Ahli Club), Mohammed Alaa (Al Rayyan Club), Ahmed Fathi (Al Arabi), Ahmed Mouin, Tariq Saliman Sulaiman and Hashem Ali Abdullatif (all Leeds United).
The Qatari team will play three friendly matches during their camp in Vienna on July 5, 10 and 15 before returning to Doha. The players will resume their preparations on July 19 for the launch of the Qatar league on August 3.
In the Asia Cup, Qatar will play in Group E alongside Lebanon, North Korea and Saudi Arabia.
The hosts United Arab Emirates, Thailand, India and Bahrain are in Group A, while Group B consists of Australia, Syria, Palestine & Jordan. Group C featurs South Korea, China, Kyrgyzstan and Philippines. Iran, Iraq, Vietnam and Yemen are drawn in Group D and Group F has Japan, Uzbekistan, Oman and Turkmenistan.
copy short url   Copy