copy short urlprintemail
+ A
A -
Qatar tribune

Islamabad: Candidates backed by the party of former Pakistan prime minister Imran Khan, who is now in jail, secured 101 seats in the national parliament, according to data published by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Sunday.

But no party emerged as a clear winner in the hotly-contested but disputed elections. So far the commission has published results of more than 840 out of 852 seats of national and four provincial assemblies. Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) of former premier Nawaz Sharif won 75 seats whereas the party of slain former premier Benazir Bhutto bagged 54 seats.

A simple majority of 134 seats is required for any one political party to form the government.

Both the PML-N and Khan’s party, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), have announced they would form the government. Khan’s party has also challenged victory of opponents in the courts.  Khan’s loyalists ran in the polls without a party symbol and as independents, meaning they can join any political party and become part of the government. (DPA)

copy short url   Copy