Monday, December 9, 2019
Home /  SPORTS  /  Qatar clinch third place in ICC WCL Division 5

Qatar clinch third place in ICC WCL Division 5

Qatar clinch third place in ICC WCL Division 5

Jersey crush Vanuatu, win final

Tribune News Network
All-rounder Tamoor Sajjad propelled Qatar to a fine third-place finish in the ICC World Cricket League Division 5 at the Willowmoore Park 'A' in Benoni, South Africa on Saturday.
After restricting a strong Italy, who had beaten them in the group match earlier, to 225 for seven in 50 overs, Qatar pulled off a three-wicket victory with 13 balls to spare, after having been anchored by Sajjad, who hit a solid 54, grabbed a wicket and a catch.
Opener Gian Piero Sergio Meade made 62 off 105 balls to resist Qatar who snared three wickets with tight bowling. At 45 for three in 15.5 overs, Meade and Bentota Perera put their heads down and attempted to haul the team out of the woods.
The fourth-wicket pair added valuable 82 runs before Mohammed Nadeem dismissed Perera for 44, which came off 54 balls and had six boundaries. At 150, Meade fell the Iqbal Hussain after the opener hit four shots to the fence in his 105-ball 62.
The Qatari bowlers continue to maintain a tight line and length and allowed the Italians only 225 for seven.
Qatar had a poor start as they lost Qalandar Khan in the third over at nine. But they recovered well through captain Inam-Ul-Haq and Kamran Khan. They collected 62 runs when Khan was sent back for an aggressive 43. His 35-ball cameo was embellished with four sixes and one four.
Qatari skipper Inam-Ul-Haq was the third man to depart after the team crossed into three figures. Haq's 37 in 74 balls included three boundaries. Sajjad and Muhammad Tanveer kept the board moving and the former got out at 147 but not before smashing 10 fours in his 46-ball knock.
The Italians sought to come back into the match and were partially successful as they removed three more players. However, Tanveer stuck to one end and his responsible 35 not out in 71 deliveries saw Qatar home.
Jersey champions
Vanuatu and Jersey might have already secured promotion to Division Four, but the latter secured bragging rights by rolling over the rivals for 135 in the final.
Having set Vanuatu 256 on the back of 86 off 101 from Ben Stevens, the Jersey bowlers went on to bowl the opponents out with over 13 overs to spare. Stevens was not done with Vanuatu yet, topping the bowling figures too with three wickets at a miserly 2.80 to the over in his 10 overs of left-arm spin.

Germany fifth
Riding on an unbeaten 123 from Venkatraman Ganesan, which took his tournament average to 182, Germany chased down 270 comfortably against Guernsey to take fifth place.
The chase was built around a fourth-wicket stand of 148 between Ganesan and captain Rishi Pillai, which made sure they were well on track despite a couple of late wickets. All of Guernsey's batsmen got starts, getting into double digits, but none apart from Oliver Newey could get to a fifty, and that cost them in the end.

Ghana win
Cayman Islands finished rock bottom as Ghana snatched a six-wicket victory with all of 183 balls to spare in the seventh-place playoff, having shot out the former for 136. That meant Cayman Islands went through the tournament without registering a win.
GP Meade c Imran Ashraf b Iqbal Hussain 62
Rakibul Hasan c Tamoor Sajjad b Awais Malik 14
PA Petricola b Mohammed Nadeem 15
Manpreet Singh lbw b Tamoor Sajjad 0
BBJL Perera c Awais Malik b Mohammed Nadeem 44
CS Sandri c Muhammad Tanveer b Iqbal Hussain 34
Hasnat Ahmed c Md Nadeem b Iqbal Hussain 3
Fida Hussain not out 42
GRD Munasinghe not out 2
Extras (b2, w7) 9
Total (for seven wkts, 50 overs) 225
Did not bat: MGSM Fernando, Charanjeet Singh
Fall of wickets:1-17 (Rakibul Hasan, 6.3 ov), 2-44 (PA Petricola, 15.5 ov), 3-45 (Manpreet Singh, 16.5 ov), 4-127 (BBJL Perera, 33.3 ov), 5-150 (GP Meade, 37.6 ov), 6-156 (Hasnat Ahmed, 41.1 ov), 7-210 (CS Sandri, 48.1 ov)
Bowling: Awais Malik 10-1-35-1, Muhammad Tanveer 9-1-37-0, Tamoor Sajjad 9-0-41-1, Mohammed Nadeem 7-0-26-2, Iqbal Hussain 10-0-51-3, Zaheer Ibrahim 5-0-33-0.

Inam-ul-Haq lbw b Sandri 37
Qalandar Khan lbw b Munasinghe 1
Kamran Khan c Meade b Sandri 43
Tamoor Sajjad c Perera b Fernando 54
Muhammad Tanveer not out 35
Mohammed Rizlan c Manpreet Singh b Sandri 28
Awais Malik c Perera b Sandri 11
Zaheer Ibrahim lbw b Fernando 9
Imran Ashraf not out 4
Extras (lb1, w6) 7
Total (for seven wkts, in 47.5 overs) 229
Did not bat: Mohammed Nadeem, Iqbal Hussain
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Qalandar Khan, 2.4 ov), 2-71 (Kamran Khan, 14.2 ov), 3-102 (Inam-ul-Haq, 22.2 ov), 4-147 (Tamoor Sajjad, 29.4 ov), 5-192 (Mohammed Rizlan, 40.5 ov), 6-208 (Awais Malik, 44.1 ov), 7-225 (Zaheer Ibrahim, 47.3 ov)
Bowling: GRD Munasinghe 8-2-19-1, Charanjeet Singh 3-0-28-0, Rakibul Hasan 10-1-36-0. GP Meade 2-0-15-0, CS Sandri 10-1-44-4, Hasnat Ahmed 5-0-34-0, MGSM Fernando 9.5-0-52-2.
Man of the match: Tamoor Sajjad (Qatar)

Brief scores (final)
Jersey beat Vanuatu 120 runs
Jersey: 255 all out in 48 overs (Ben Stevens 86, Corey Bisson 20, Cornelis Bodenstein 47, Patrick Matautaava 2/44, Callum Blake 2/21, Nalin Nipiko 3/42)
Vanuatu: 135 all out in 36.5 overs (Joshua Rasu 42, Andrew Mansale 37, Cornelis Bodenstein 3/28, Nathaniel Watkins 2/39, Elliot Miles 2/28)