Thursday, January 23, 2020
Home /  Sports  /  SA name three uncapped players for India’s Test tour

SA name three uncapped players for India’s Test tour

South Africa have named three uncapped players in their Test squad for the three-match tour of India in early October as they begin life without retired veterans Dale Steyn and Hashim Amla.
Fast bowler Anrich Nortje, wicketkeeper/batsman Rudi Second and spin bowling all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy have been included in the 15-man selection that will be captained by Faf du Plessis.
“All three newcomers to the test side have more than earned their spurs through impressive performances in last season’s Four-Day Franchise competition,” Cricket South Africa Acting Director of Cricket Corrie van Zyl said.
Van Zyl also announced a squad for the Twenty20 Internationals before the test series, with Du Plessis not included in that group and Quinton de Kock set to captain.
South Africa will start the tour with the limited overs matches, the first of which is in Dharamsala on September 15.
That will be followed by Tests in Visakhapatnam (October 2-6), Ranchi (October 10-14) and Pune (October 19-23), which are the first for South Africa in the newly-formed ICC Test Championship.