Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Home /  INDIA  /  Four legislators from Meghalaya join BJP

Four legislators from Meghalaya join BJP

Four Meghalaya legislators, including Congress'Alexander Hek, on Tuesday resigned as members of the Meghalaya Assembly and joined the BJP ahead of elections slated next month.
The ninth Meghalaya Assembly, comprising 60 members, was constituted on March 1, 2013, and its term expires on March 6 next year. Hek is a former Bhartiya Janata Party-turned Congress legislator, who had served as a former Health and Family Welfare Minister in the Mukul Sangma cabinet before being sacked last year to calm the rebellion within the Congress Legislature party.
The other three who quit include former Deputy Speaker Sanbor Shullai of the Nationalist Congress Party, besides two Independent legislators Robinus Syngkon and Justine Dkhar.


Subscribe to our Whatsapp Service