Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Latest News

Majlis-e-Frogh-e-Urdu Adab announces new Board of Patrons

  • 25 June 2019
  • Author: QT01
  • Number of views: 855
Majlis-e-Frogh-e-Urdu Adab announces new Board of Patrons
LN Mallick
The Majlis-e-Frogh-e-Urdu Adab has announced the names of members of its new Board of Patrons.
Chairman of Majlis-e-Frogh-e-Urdu Adab Mohammad Atiq dissolved the previous Board of Patrons in December 2018, which comprised 12 Qatar-based members, six from Pakistan and six from India.
Mohammad Atiq will be the Chairman of the new Board of Patrons. The members include Dr Zeenat Rizvi, Mohammad Khan, Mehmood Ahmed, Ahmad Hussain, Riaz Ahmed Bakali and Sohail Zaman from Pakistan and Khalid Bashir Afghani, V K Chowdhry, A K Usman, Mohammad Unni Olakara, Akhter Abbas and Dr Shridhar Devidas from India.
The Majlis was founded by Malik Museeb-ur-Rehman in 1991. Its objective is to promote the Urdu language and literature and hold Indo-Pak mushairas and other events of similar nature by inviting  every year Urdu poets, scholars and dignitaries from India, Pakistan, GCC states, Europe, the US, Canada, Russia, China, Japan, Australia and other countries.
Atiq joined the Majlis as Chairman in January 1994 on Museeb’s request. After five months, the Majlis started holding ‘Aalmi Mushairas’ in honour of reputed poets, one year in honour of an Indian poet and the next year in honour of a Pakistani poet.
Over a period of 24 years from 1994 to 2018, the Majlis has organised 24 mushairas. In 1996, the Majlis instituted two Aalmi Frogh-e-Urdu Adab Awards, one in honour of an Indian Urdu scholar and the other in honour of a Pakistani Urdu scholar. The award carries a gold medal and cash prize of Rs150,000 for each winner. 
The Majlis has so far honoured 44 Urdu scholars so far – 22 from India and 22 from Pakistan – and invited more than 500 Urdu scholars, poets and dignitaries to participate in its annual functions.
Museeb passed away in 2006 but the Majlis still organises these functions with the help of the new management committee, under the guidance of Chairman Mohammad Atiq. 
The management committee members include Prof Dr Fartash Syed (President), Javed Humayun and Roaise Mumtaz  (Vice-Presidents), Obaid Tahir (Secretary General), Furqan Ahmed Paracha (Joint Secretary), Qamar uz  Zaman Bhatti (Joint Secretary), Abdul Razaq and Javed Bhatti (Information Secretaries) and Raza Hussain Raza (Finance Secretary).
Prof Dr Tehsin Faruqi from Pakistan and Fay Seen Ejaz from India will receive the 23rd Aalmi Frogh-e-Urdu Adab Award in October-November in Doha this year. 
The award ceremony will be followed by the 25th Aalmi Mushaira. 
These awards winners were decided by a jury headed by Prof Dr Gopi Chand Narang with Prof Shafey Kidwai and Prof Tariq Chhatri as members in India and another jury headed by Prof Dr Khurshid Rizvi with Prof Fateh Mohd Malik, Dr Mazher Mehmood Shairani and Prof Dr Zahid Munir Aamer in Pakistan.

Categories: Top News
Rate this article:
No rating

Please login or register to post comments.